Overdubbing

February 18, 2009

Bjorn and I have spent the last couple of days doing overdubs.. you know, some ooh’s and ah’s, hand claps, mouth percussion (! I know, it’s funny. I did some yesterday that sounded like a mouse tap dancing – maybe it was the inspiration of the beat boxers at the Camille gig before I left?!). We also laid down some piano, guitar, etcetera. Just making sure we’ve got things covered.  It’s sounding really full after a great day of doing strings on Monday.  I was in heaven, plus the cellist played some musical saw which looks a bit like the tool but without the teeth. Today Peter came back to play some more double bass.  I’m strangely pleased to say that there’s no electric guitar or electric bass on this record so far – mostly acoustic instruments except for one psychedelic keyboard. As it stands, these are the instruments that feature on the record: double bass, nylon string guitar, piano, drums, percussion, banjo, violin, viola, cello, baritone saxophone, keyboard. What else can I tell you?… well we’ve narrowed it down to the final 12 songs that we’re going to mix. Titles will probably change a little but these are the titles at the moment.. Down On Love, Hold On My Heart, What I Want, Over & Over, We Won’t Run, Night & Day, Bird On A Wire, No Turning Back, Is My Baby Yours?, Some Of Us, Not Enough, Lost & Defeated.  Who knows if all of them will make the record.. we’ll see once they’re all finished I suppose.  The songs have already begun to be mixed in one room while we’re doing overdubs in the room next door. It’s a bit of a production line!  They’re very organised here!

Here’s a picture of my favourite Swede.. I don’t know his name yet, but he just sits on the front there while his owner (this old man) drives him around.. he wasn’t very impressed when I took his photo either.

Lazy Bones

Lazy Bones

Lazy Bones Back

Lazy Bones Back

Comments are closed.

