Scandinavian Adventures Pt2

August 16, 2009

Yes, still in Scandinavia… Denmark to be precise.  I’m leaving Copenhagen tomorrow for Malmo in the South of Sweden to play the Malmo Festival.  I’ve been quite a tourist this week wandering around the city… and over the weekend I visited the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, (by the sea a little bit North of Copenhagen).  Saw some Pollock, Warhol, Picasso, Rothko, that kinda thing! I must admit I’m a bit of a weirdo in an art gallery.  I haven’t quite perfected my art-gazing stance.  It’s difficult to know whether to rest your hand on your chin, to tilt your head, squint or to frame the image on display with your hands – sorry, maybe that’s just what film-makers and photographers do?!  I always feel that my reaction to the paintings should somehow be more exaggerated. And I want to know how much time is enough to spend gazing at a particular painting and how much distance there should be? Perhaps there are no “rules” but I’m sure you can sense my inner dilemma! 

After spending so many months working on a production of Hamlet last year, I thought it was only fitting for me to make a quick trip to Helsingor (Elsinore) and checked out the Kronberg Castle too.  Being the cheapskate that I am, I decided not to pay the entry fee to go into the castle itself but instead decided to do the free walk underneath the Castle. I have to admit, I was terrified!  It was so dark down there and sometimes you could hardly see where you were treading.  Because I was on my own I was panicking, I almost tripped and then bumped into a mannequin of a soldier that some maniac thought would be a great idea to put down there. I eventually caught up to a German family that I followed closely behind for the rest of the trek.  It didn’t help that the children kept making ghost sounds the whole way.  Thoughts of Hamlet and his Father’s ghost could not be expelled from my mind, plus apparently there’s a resident ghost.  I found out later that it’s supposed to be one of the most haunted castles in the world. Super. As I stepped out into the sunlight I tried to gather my composure… but I’m pretty sure I looked like someone who’d just seen a ghost.

News from Australia is that we’ve put a second show on sale at the Forum in Melbourne!  The 4th October I believe. Now, that’s a place that looks like it’s haunted… I’ve heard there’s all kinds of crazy things down underneath the stage. I’ll be sure to take someone down with me if I decide to do a little tour of the theatre.

Comments are closed.

